Behind the Blue Balloon

cropped-img_1872.jpg

Some of you might be wondering why my blog is called The Blue Balloon. I figured since I’ve been writing for a few weeks now I might as well share…

Although I wish I could give you some big and elaborate story, the story is actually a very simple one. And yet, it serves as a constant reminder of God’s love and hope in my life.

A couple years ago I was walking through a place that I love and have called home all my life- Indianapolis. Although I’m not sure where I’ll end up after I graduate, Indiana and the beautiful people that I’ve met there will always hold a special place in my heart. All in all. Colts and cornfields. My time spent growing up there forever shaped who I am today, with this story being one of them.

As I was walking through the streets with no particular destination in mind, I came across this simple sight from which The Blue Balloon received its name. Amidst a plain and neutral backdrop of brick buildings was a giant bouquet of balloons. I stopped to admire the balloons and smiled to myself, almost feeling as if these balloons were out of  place. Here in the midst of the city craziness someone had placed these balloons.

Again, this story is not earth shattering. But the meaning I now take away from it is. Those balloons stand for God’s hope in my life. Whenever I am caught up in the busyness of life and feel like my days are colored brown and neutral, God always places a bouquet of balloons in my path. A reminder of his love for me. A reminder of the constant hope that I have in Him.

The balloons in my life look different from day to day. Sometimes its simple things, like receiving a text from an old friend. Other times its a beautiful sunrise. Other times, the balloons go deeper. It’s looking into the face of a friend and knowing that God placed them in my life for a reason. It’s holding my little sister’s hand and knowing that my parents adopted her into our family, saving her from a life of growing up in a Chinese orphanage.

These balloons remind me that I serve a God who cares about me, even when I feel as if I’m walking the streets of life with no destination. He puts the color in my life, reminding me that he does have a plan and a direction for my life. God places balloon moments of hope in our life every day. We just have to stop and pause to reflect on them.

So there’s the story behind The Blue Balloon. It’s a story of love, hope, and encouragement.

Stop and see the balloons today.

“May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him..” Romans 15:13

One thought on “Behind the Blue Balloon

  1. Pingback: Behind the Blue Balloon (by Lindsey Winneroski) | Manna and Coffee

Leave a Reply

